Folk, Folk-Rock, Traditional Folk, Folk Revival

Album Review

Most of a year's additional experience, as well as getting that first album behind her, shows Judy Collins singing with less stridency and a lot more confidence on her second LP, whether she's doing English-based ballads such as "Fannerio" or gospel tunes like "Twelve Gates to the City." Accompanied by her own guitar and Walter Raim on second guitar, with Spike Lee's father, Bill Lee, on bass, she generates a much more attractive sound and body of work, with a freer, less rigid approach that gives the songs a chance to breathe and flow. There's also a more easygoing pleasure evident on the part of the singer, which carries over to the recording in lots of subtle ways.
Bruce Eder, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Golden Apples of the Sun
  2. Bonnie Ship the Diamond
  3. Little Brown Dog
  4. Twelve Gates to the City
  5. Christ Child Lullaby
  6. Great Selchie of Shule Skerry
  7. Tell Me Who I'll Marry
  8. Fannerio
  9. Crow on the Cradle
  10. Lark in the Morning
  11. Sing Hallelujah
  12. Shule Aroon
purchase full album