April 25, 2006
Frontiers Records
Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Hard Rock

Album Review

For nearly two decades, not much was heard from one of the '80s top mainstream rock acts, Survivor. In the wake of 1988's Too Hot to Sleep, it seemed as if the band had fallen off the face of the earth. But with renewed interest in '80s rock circa the early 21st century, three Survivor veterans -- singer Jimi Jamison (not the "Eye of the Tiger" guy, he's the "Burning Heart" guy), guitarist Frankie Sullivan, and drummer Marc Droubay -- opted to resuscitate the band, with 2006's Reach. Unlike some other acts of the '80s who attempt to keep pace with the young pups by updating their sound (and oft-times floundering), Reach finds Survivor sticking with what they know best. And of course, that's melodic rockers with a clean production, as evidenced by such tracks as the album-opening title track and "Fire Makes Steel." And of course, what would a Survivor album be without the obligatory sappy ballad? No need to worry, "Rhythm of Your Heart" is Survivor's latest entry in the power ballad canon. But without a new Rocky movie to provide an anthem for, Reach will appeal only to diehards.
Greg Prato, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Reach
  2. Fire Makes Steel
  3. Nevertheless
  4. Seconds Away
  5. One More Change
  6. Give Me the Word
  7. Rhythm Of Your Heart
  8. I Don't
  9. Half of My Heart
  10. Talkin' 'Bout Love
  11. Don't Give Up
  12. Home