Rhythm & Blues, Soul, Southern Soul, Deep Soul

Album Review

Don Covay hadn't seen a lot of chart activity since the '60s, but he returned in 1973 with the comeback album Super Dude. The singles "Overtime Man," "I Was Checkin' Out She Was Checkin' In," and "Somebody's Been Enjoying My Home" were all worthy of high recognition, but only "I was Checkin'," a classic about a guy cheating on his woman while she's cheating on him at the same motel, made any real noise. "Leave Him, Pts. 1-2" is another good gritty track, but Mercury spoiled it by putting the first part on the first side and the second on the second, which doesn't make a whole lot of sense. On the positive side, Covay breathes new life into "Money (That's What I Want)." The recording quality is slicker and better engineered than his earlier material, and there are more musicians, but the raw charm of "See Saw" and "Mercy Mercy" is missing. This is the mature, been-through-the-mill Don Covay, whose singing about adultery and promiscuity had a Southern/uptown soul feel. [R.P.M.'s 2005 reissue adds six tracks from Covay's 1971 album on Janus titled Different Strokes for Different Folks.]
Andrew Hamilton, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Overtime Man
  2. I Stayed Away Too Long
  3. I Was Checkin' Out She Was Checkin' In
  4. Hold You to Your Promise
  5. Memphis
  6. The Pinch Hitters
  7. Somebody's Been Enjoying My Home
  8. Bad Mouthing
  9. Leave Him, Pt. 1
  10. Leave Him, Pt. 2
  11. Money (That's What I Want)
  12. Don't Step on a Man When He's Down
  13. Sweet Thang [*]
  14. Daddy, Please Don't Go Out Tonight [*]
  15. Why Did You Put Your Shoes Under My Bed [*]
  16. Stop By [*]
  17. Bad Luck [*]
  18. Hitching a Ride [*]