Pop/Rock, Glam Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Proto-Punk, Experimental Rock, Album Rock, Art Rock

Album Review

Stage was David Bowie's second live double album, documenting his supporting tour for Heroes. Supported by a band that featured guitarists Adrian Belew and Carlos Alomar, Bowie doesn't recast his earlier work in a new light -- the songs from Ziggy Stardust essentially remain the same, as do the selections from Station to Station -- but they are infused with a new avant-garde spirit that comes to the forefront during the songs from Low and Heroes. Though the newer material isn't arranged in a different manner than the studio versions -- and it lacks some of the studio trickery that made the originals so thrilling -- the live versions do illustrate that much of the innovation of the Bowie-Eno collaborations lies in their subversion of conventional song structure.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Hang on to Yourself
  2. Ziggy Stardust
  3. Five Years
  4. Soul Love
  5. Star
  6. Station to Station
  7. Fame
  8. TVC 15
  9. Warszawa
  10. Speed of Life
  11. Art Decade
  12. Sense of Doubt
  13. Breaking Glass
  14. Heroes
  15. What in the World
  16. Blackout
  17. Beauty and the Beast
  18. Alabama Song [*]