RELEASE
1963
LABEL
Columbia
GENRES
Vocal Music, Vocal Jazz, Traditional Pop, Vocal Pop, Show Tunes

Album Review

As the studio album followup to Tony Bennett's breakthrough record, I Left My Heart in San Francisco, I Wanna Be Around had a lot to live up to, but since San Francisco was a culmination of Bennett's development, and not a fluke, I Wanna Be Around turned out to be almost on a par with its predecessor. "The Good Life" and "I Wanna Be Around" became Top 20 hits, showing that Bennett had somehow found a line into good new pop material, and there were also some excellent arrangements, courtesy of Marty Manning, including a percussion-and-flute reading of "Let's Face the Music and Dance" that echoed the Beat of My Heart album and a nod to the South American trend with Antonio Carlos Jobim's "Quiet Nights (Corcovado)." A worthy successor.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Good Lifehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-good-life/id198096324?i=198096515&uo=5
  2. If I Love Againhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/if-i-love-again/id198096324?i=198096639&uo=5
  3. I Wanna Be Aroundhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-wanna-be-around/id198096324?uo=5
  4. I've Got Your Numberhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/ive-got-your-number/id198096324?i=198097060&uo=5
  5. Until I Met Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/until-i-met-you/id198096324?i=198097369&uo=5
  6. Once Upon a Summertimehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/once-upon-a-summertime/id198096324?i=198097700&uo=5
  7. If You Were Minehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/if-you-were-mine/id198096324?i=198097808&uo=5
  8. I Will Live My Life for Youhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-will-live-my-life-for-you/id198096324?i=198098101&uo=5
  9. Someone to Lovehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/someone-to-love/id198096324?i=198098171&uo=5
  10. It Was Mehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/it-was-me/id198096324?i=198098338&uo=5
  11. Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars (Corcovado)http://itunes.apple.com/album/quiet-nights-quiet-stars-corcovado/id198096324?i=198098458&uo=5
  12. Autumn in Romehttp://itunes.apple.com/album/autumn-in-rome/id198096324?i=198098788&uo=5
  13. The Way That I Feelhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-way-that-i-feel/id198096324?i=198098869&uo=5
  14. The Moment of Truthhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/the-moment-of-truth/id198096324?i=198099211&uo=5
  15. Got Her off My Hands (But Can't Get Her off My Mind)http://itunes.apple.com/album/got-her-off-my-hands-but-cant-get/id198096324?i=198099295&uo=5
  16. Long About Nowhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-wanna-be-around/id198096324?uo=5
  17. Young and Foolishhttp://itunes.apple.com/album/i-wanna-be-around/id198096324?uo=5
  18. Trickshttp://itunes.apple.com/album/tricks/id198096324?i=198099900&uo=5
purchase full album