Vocal Music, Vocal Jazz, Traditional Pop, Vocal Pop, Show Tunes

Album Review

As the studio album followup to Tony Bennett's breakthrough record, I Left My Heart in San Francisco, I Wanna Be Around had a lot to live up to, but since San Francisco was a culmination of Bennett's development, and not a fluke, I Wanna Be Around turned out to be almost on a par with its predecessor. "The Good Life" and "I Wanna Be Around" became Top 20 hits, showing that Bennett had somehow found a line into good new pop material, and there were also some excellent arrangements, courtesy of Marty Manning, including a percussion-and-flute reading of "Let's Face the Music and Dance" that echoed the Beat of My Heart album and a nod to the South American trend with Antonio Carlos Jobim's "Quiet Nights (Corcovado)." A worthy successor.
William Ruhlmann, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. The Good Life
  2. If I Love Again
  3. I Wanna Be Around
  4. I've Got Your Number
  5. Until I Met You
  6. Once Upon a Summertime
  7. If You Were Mine
  8. I Will Live My Life for You
  9. Someone to Love
  10. It Was Me
  11. Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars (Corcovado)
  12. Autumn in Rome
  13. The Way That I Feel
  14. The Moment of Truth
  15. Got Her off My Hands (But Can't Get Her off My Mind)
  16. Long About Now
  17. Young and Foolish
  18. Tricks
purchase full album