Pop/Rock, Psychedelic, Blues-Rock, Dub, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Soul, Album Rock, College Rock, Punk/New Wave, Alternative/Indie Rock, New Wave, Folk-Rock

Album Review

Reflecting the label's roots in Jamaica in the late 1950s, this 31-song collection celebrating Island's 25th anniversary includes the definitive reggae anthems "The Harder They Come" by Jimmy Cliff from the classic movie soundtrack of the same name and "No Woman No Cry" by Bob Marley. Capturing the playful side of Jamaica, there's the first hit for label founder Chris Blackwell, the infectious 1963 smash "My Boy Lollipop" by little Millie Small; "Israelites" by Desmond Dekker and the Aces, "Montego Bay" by Amazulu, "Sinsemilla" by Black Uhuru, and a rousing "Funky Kingston" courtesy of Toots and the Maytals. Illustrating how Island grew far beyond the confines of the Caribbean, the album also includes white rockers U2, Traffic, Free, Robert Palmer and Julian Cope. Throw in several ballads such as "Up Where We Belong" by Jennifer Warnes and Bill Medley, and this is the overview you'd expect from such a long-lived and diverse label, although it must have been tough to hold to only one song from a catalog as extensive as Marley's, for example. Flow is sometimes a problem, but the music is strong.
Mark Allan, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. With or Without You
  2. Night Train
  3. Broken English
  4. Sinsemilla
  5. All Right Now
  6. Keep on Running
  7. Paper Sun
  8. Addicted to Love
  9. Pull Up to the Bumper
  10. Boops (Here to Go)
  11. Cuba
  12. Funky Kingston
  13. The Israelites
  14. My Boy Lollipop
  15. Now That We Found Love
  16. No Woman, No Cry
  17. Love Hurts
  18. Up Where We Belong
  19. Padlock
  20. The Harder They Come
  21. Eighteen With a Bullet
  22. Si Tu Dois Partir
  23. Innocent When You Dream (Barroom)
  24. World Shut Your Mouth
  25. Adventures in Success
  26. Montego Bay
  27. Video Killed the Radio Star
  28. This Town Ain't Big Enough for the Both of Us
  29. Do Anything You Wanna Do
  30. Forgotten Town
  31. Relax