September 26, 1995
Jazz, Soul Jazz, Hard Bop

Album Review

Smith recorded most of his most popular sides for Verve, and this double CD contains 25 tracks taken from his recordings for the label between 1962 and 1973, in both small-combo and big-band settings. There are a few Jimmy Smith compilations out there, and this isn't necessarily the best; anthologies that focus on his early and mid-'60s prime might be better values overall. It does have his most famous performances -- "Walk on the Wild Side," "Got My Mojo Working," and a couple of his great duets with guitarist Wes Montgomery. It's a decent enough pickup if you just want one or two Smith albums for your library, though not so definitive that it's worth getting if you already have some Smith compilations that cover the Verve era.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Walk on the Wild Side
  2. Blues for J
  3. The Cat
  4. Trouble in Mind
  5. Funky Broadway
  6. Milestones
  7. The Christmas Song
  8. Kenny's Sound
  9. St. James Infirmary
  10. Refractions
  11. The Champ [Live]
  12. Hobo Flats
  13. Sagg Shootin' His Arrow
  14. Organ Grinder's Swing
  15. Down by the Riverside
  16. And I Love You So
  17. The Boss
  18. Got My Mojo Working
  19. Groove Drops
  20. Delon's Blues
  21. O.G.D. (aka Road Song) [Alternate Take]
  22. Portuguese Soul, 2nd Movement: Ritual
  23. Monlope (aka Moonlore)
  24. When Johnny Comes Marching Home
  25. Blues and the Abstract Truth
purchase full album