June 06, 2011
Warner Bros.
Country, Gospel, Traditional Country, Contemporary Country, New Traditionalist, Neo-Traditionalist Country, Country Gospel

Album Review

To celebrate his 25th anniversary -- marked from the 1986 release of his major-label debut Storms of Life, not his independent 1978 release under the name Randy Traywick -- Randy Travis rounded up a bunch of stars to cut duets of his biggest hits. Apart from Broadway dynamo Kristin Chenoweth appearing out of nowhere on “Love Looks Good on You,” there are no big surprises either in song selection, duet partners, or arrangements; sure, Zac Brown brings “Forever and Ever, Amen” into James Taylor territory, but that’s a marginal move, offset by straightforward readings of “Diggin’ Up Bones” with John Anderson, Alan Jackson popping up for a medley of “Better Class of Losers/She’s Got the Rhythm (And I Got the Blues),” and Jamey Johnson on “A Few Ole Country Boys.” There may be nothing shocking here, but it’s all pleasant, and it’s nice to find staunch traditionalist Travis sounding at ease singing with Don Henley and Carrie Underwood. Perhaps this 25th Anniversary Celebration is a party that can be missed, but it nevertheless provides a good time.
Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Everything and All
  2. A Few Ole Country Boys
  3. Forever and Ever, Amen
  4. He Walked on Water
  5. T.I.M.E.
  6. Love Looks Good on You
  7. Better Class of Losers/She's Got the Rhythm (And I Got the Blues)
  8. More Life
  9. Can't Hurt a Man
  10. Promises
  11. Is It Still Over?
  12. Road to Surrender
  13. Diggin' Up Bones
  14. Someone You Never Knew
  15. Too Much
  16. Didn't We Shine
  17. Everything and All
purchase full album