Rhythm & Blues, Motown, Pop-Soul, Soul

Album Review

You get a big bang for your buck with this two-in-one CD. The single disc contains two of Junior Walker's best albums and early smashes like "Shotgun," "Road Runner," "Shake and Fingerpop," "How Sweet It Is to Be Loved by You," "Money," and "Pucker Up Buttercup." Sweet sax toots "Cleo's Mood," "Hot Cha," and "Am Cherie," contrast bucket-of-blood rockers "Anyway You Want It," "Tune Up," and "Baby You Know It Ain't Right." The rhythm section sounds different on many tracks because the Funk Brothers (Motown's rhythm section), replaced the All-Stars on Walker's big hits. On "Shotgun," you hear Walker but not much of the All-Stars, who can be heard on "Cleo's Mood" and some others.
Andrew Hamilton, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Cleo's Mood
  2. Do the Boomerang
  3. Shotgun
  4. Shake and Fingerpop
  5. Shoot Your Shot
  6. Tune-Up
  7. Hot Cha
  8. Monkey Jump
  9. Tally Ho
  10. Cleo's Back
  11. Ain't That the Truth
  12. (I'm A) Road Runner
  13. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You)
  14. Pucker Up Buttercup
  15. Money (That's What I Want)
  16. Last Call
  17. (Dance) Anyway You Wanta
  18. Baby You Know You Ain't Right
  19. Ame' Cherie (Soul Darling)
  20. Twist Lackawanna
  21. San-Ho-Zay
  22. Mutiny