February 08, 2011
Hip-O Select
Jazz, Post-Bop, Jazz Instrument, Bop, Saxophone Jazz, West Coast Jazz, Cool

Album Review

Basically, what you see is what you get: all of the recordings Stan Getz did for the Norgran and Clef between December of 1952 and January of 1955. Most of this material has been issued several times -- at least -- by numerous labels legally and illegally. What makes the Hip-O Select set the definitive issue is, besides proper licensing, that all of these cuts, the 10" albums -- Stan Getz Plays, The Artistry of Stan Getz, all three Interpretations volumes, and Stan Getz & the Cool Sounds -- along with all the single and EP releases for a total of 45 sides -- three of them previously unreleased -- and a pair of studio cuts that appeared on the otherwise live Stan Getz at the Shrine appear in chronological order. The vast majority of these sessions were recorded with quintets. The membership of these Getz bands featured Bob Brookmeyer on all but the last where he is replaced by Tony Fruscella, pianist John Williams (though Duke Jordan appears on the earliest of these tracks with guitarist Jimmy Raney), bassist Teddy Kotick and drummer Frank Isola. Six performances were recorded by a quartet that included pianist Jimmy Rowles, drummer Max Roach, and bassist Bob Whitlock. Two of them, alternate takes of "I Hadn't Anyone 'Til You," and "Nobody But You" are previously unissued. The other unreleased cut is an alternate take of "It Don't Mean Thing," recorded with the quintet during August of 1953. The liner notes by Ashley Khan offer a typically excellent historical titime linef the sessions and the relationship between Norman Granz and Getz during during a fruitful but chaotic period in the saxophonist's life personally and professionally, without editorializing. They also include a painstaking sessionography, photographs of single labels, and album covers with the three discs presented in heavy cardboard adorned with original cover art; all of it housed handsomely in a slipcase. The remastered sound is warm and full; exponentially better than it appears anywhere else. For real Getz collectors, the set is a necessity.
Thom Jurek, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Stella by Starlight
  2. Time on My Hands
  3. 'Tis Autumn
  4. The Way You Look Tonight
  5. Lover Come Back to Me
  6. Body and Soul
  7. Stars Fell on Alabama
  8. You Turned the Tables on Me
  9. Thanks for the Memory
  10. Hymn of the Orient
  11. These Foolish Things (Remind Me of You)
  12. How Deep Is the Ocean?
  13. Have You Met Miss Jones?
  14. Erudition
  15. Cool Mix
  16. Rustic Hop
  17. Love and the Weather
  18. Spring Is Here
  19. Crazy Rhythm
  20. Willow Weep for Me
  21. The Nearness of You
  22. Pot Luck
  23. Minor Blues
  24. Fascinatin' Rhythm
  25. I Don't Know What Time It Was
  26. Tangerine
  27. Pot Luck [Single Version] [*][Version]
  28. It Don't Mean a Thing [Alternate Version] [Alternate Take][#][*][Versio
  29. I Hadn't Anyone 'Til You
  30. Down by the Sycamore Tree
  31. With the Wind and the Rain in Your Hair
  32. Nobody Else But Me
  33. I Hadn't Anyone 'Til You [Alternate Take] [Alternate Take][#]
  34. Nobody Else But Me [Alternate Take] [Alternate Take][#]
  35. It Don't Mean a Thing
  36. The Varsity Drag
  37. Give Me the Simple Life
  38. Oh, Jane Snavely
  39. I'll Remember April
  40. We'll Be Together Again [EP Version] [*][Version]
  41. We'll Be Together Again [LP Version] [*][Version]
  42. Feather Merchant [*]
  43. Flamingo [*]
  44. Blue Bells [*]
  45. Round Up Time [*]
purchase full album