Universal Distribution
Jazz, Free Jazz

Album Review

This LP is one of tenor-saxophonist Pharoah Sanders's lesser efforts. Sanders actually only plays tenor on one song ("Went Like It Came"), otherwise jamming on soprano and taking some spirited vocals. Very much a hodge-podge collection with performances taken from three different settings, best is Sanders's heartfelt "Memories of Lee Morgan." But there are many more significant Pharoah Sanders records than this one.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Memories of Lee Morgan
  2. Village of the Pharoahs, Pt. 1
  3. Village of the Pharoahs, Pts. 2 & 3
  4. Myth
  5. Went Like It Came