Black Saint
Jazz, Free Jazz, Piano Jazz, Jazz Instrument, Avant-Garde Jazz, Experimental Big Band

Album Review

Pianist Muhal Richard Abrams leads an 18-piece orchestra on his seven originals that make up the Hearinga Suite. Much of the music is quite adventurous, although "Oldfotalk" is fairly conventional. Although the personnel includes such fine players as trumpeters Jack Walrath and Cecil Bridgewater and saxophonists John Purcell and Marty Ehrlich, the emphasis is on group interplay and the colorful arrangements. Throughout this very interesting set, Abrams shows how a big band can logically be utilized in freer forms of jazz.
Scott Yanow, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Hearinga
  2. Conversations With the Three of Me
  3. Seesall
  4. Aura of Thought- Things
  5. Oldfotalk
  6. Finditnow
  7. Bermix
purchase full album