Pop/Rock, Folk-Rock, Psychedelic, Garage Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Baroque Pop

Album Review

Love broadened their scope into psychedelia on their sophomore effort, Arthur Lee's achingly melodic songwriting gifts reaching full flower. The six songs that comprised the first side of this album when it was first issued are a truly classic body of work, highlighted by the atomic blast of pre-punk rock "Seven & Seven Is" (their only hit single), the manic jazz tempos of "Stephanie Knows Who," and the enchanting "She Comes in Colors," perhaps Lee's best composition (and reportedly the inspiration for the Rolling Stones' "She's a Rainbow"). It's only half a great album, though; the seventh and final track, "Revelation," is a tedious 19-minute jam that keeps Da Capo from attaining truly classic status.
Richie Unterberger, Rovi

Track Listing

  1. Stephanie Knows Who
  2. Orange Skies
  3. ¡Que Vida!
  4. Seven & Seven Is
  5. The Castle
  6. She Comes In Colors
  7. Revelation